Yardbirds Are Back 
Home Theater News Music - Software News
Written by AVRev.com   
Wednesday, 08 January 2003

Billboard.com reports that The Yardbirds, after a thirty six year hiatus, just finished recording their new album “Birdland.” The album, being released on Steve Vai’s Favored Nations label, should hit retail shelves on April 22, 2003.

Yardbirds once included guitar legends Jimmy Page and Eric Clapton. The new "Birdland" lineup includes original members Chris Dreja (guitar) and Jim McCarty (drums), and new members Gypie Mayo (lead guitar), John Idan (bassist) and harmonica player Alan Glen.

The majority of the album was recorded in Vai’s studio in Los Angeles and Vai himself guest stars on the album along with Jeff Beck, Queen’s Brian May, Slash, Joe Satriani, The Goo Goo Dolls' Johnny Reznick and Toto’s Steve Lukather.

The album is mostly comprised of renditions of old Yardbirds songs but includes seven new tunes.

Like this article? Bookmark and share with any of the sites below.
Digg!Reddit!Del.icio.us!Google!StumbleUpon!Yahoo!Free social bookmarking plugins and extensions for Joomla! websites!
Joomla SEF URLs by Artio