Audio Video Revolution Forum  

Go Back   Audio Video Revolution Forum > Everything HDTV, High-end Video, HD DVD, Blu-ray and beyond > Video Processors, Technology & Calibration

Video Processors, Technology & Calibration Discuss the best way to get the most from your video system.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2008   #1
rex
Super Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 379
Default Calibration Nightmare

I had never had a display professionally calibrated previously, so I was eagerly looking forward to the calibration I had scheduled for my new Samsung HL67A750. In order to ensure a proper, professional calibration, I was careful to obtain the ISF-certified calibrator’s telephone number from the ISF website. He arrived with several expensive-looking cases of test equipment. I explained the sequence of keys required on the remote control to access the service menu. Once inside the service menu, the calibrator was completely stumped about what to do next. For some reason, the menu item “grayscale” was not an available menu option while in HDMI mode. After several frantic telephone calls to both Samsung and his trainer, a guy named “Jamie” who works at Sencore (the company which sold the test equipment), he still could not figure out what to do next, and so he informs me that the grayscale cannot be adjusted on this model while in HDMI mode. Though I knew that this didn’t make any sense, I breathed a sigh of relief, realizing that someone tinkering around inside the service menu might cause some real damage. I later learned that the grayscale is adjusted from the submenu, WB (white balance). I also knew that “gamma” was supposed be between 2.2 and 2.5, though I didn’t understand why the default setting was –3. (This is not the actual gamma, but rather a user selectable parameter, which is chosen to achieve a gamma of between 2.2 and 2.5, depending on preference and ambient lighting.)

Furthermore, this ISF-certified calibrator had no idea what either CCA or Blue mode were for. CCA is Samsung’s “color coordinate adjustment” system, which automatically corrects primary and secondary colors to system specifications, and therefore must first temporarily be disabled before performing calibration of color and tint. I explained that using blue mode was much more accurate than using filters, and explained how bars are compared while in this mode. When we then turned on the blue mode and everything turned blue, he looked at me and asks, “Where are the bars”? So I explain that the blue mode only turns off the other colors, and that he still has to send the SMPTE test pattern to the display with his signal generator. He continued for a while really messing up all of my user settings. For example, he turned the contrast from 90 all the way down to 20. I explained to him, as politely as I could, that I had called him primarily for the grayscale calibration, since I didn’t have a colorimeter; and that since all of the other adjustments I could do myself with my AVIA II disk, he was now free to leave. At this time, he demanded that I pay him $70 for the service call. He wasn’t going to charge me the full amount, he said, since he didn’t finish the calibration. I preferred to just give him the 70 bucks to get rid of him, than have an argument.

So, Kal, maybe next time, I should simply invest my money in a colorimeter and follow your online instructions. http://www.curtpalme.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10457
Perhaps I should even contact Sencore for a refund of my $70? After all, they are the ones, in this case, responsible for providing training. Clearly they are much more interested in selling equipment than they are in maintaining professional standards in the industry. What do you think?
rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008   #2
Super Member
 
rlpiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 506
Default Re: Calibration Nightmare

How much were you originally going to be charged? $70 is not much for isf calibration.
I have always been charged in the $300 - $500 range. Usually $500 if only doing one display.
I can get discounts if doing multiple displays on the same service call.
rlpiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008   #3
Super Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: White Plains, New York
Posts: 1,706
Default Re: Calibration Nightmare

Sorry to hear about your frustration. Maybe, the thing to do is, ask Kevin Miller for a recommendation. He might know a ISF calibrator in your area, or be able to find out who does your area. This way you would have a better qualified person.

I guess its just food for thought now.
deacongreg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008   #4
rex
Super Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 379
Default The Nightmare continues

Quote:
Originally Posted by deacongreg View Post
Sorry to hear about your frustration. Maybe, the thing to do is, ask Kevin Miller for a recommendation. He might know a ISF calibrator in your area, or be able to find out who does your area. This way you would have a better qualified person.
I guess its just food for thought now.
That would be great if Kevin knew someone. But I live in the middle of the boondocks, so my options are limited. There were two ISF calibrators in this area listed on the ISF website. So next, I called the second one. He comes over and starts hooking up his equipment to the component inputs. I tell him that I don't use component, just HDMI, (one for BD and one for Dish). He says that if he does the calibration using components, the TV will be calibrated on all inputs; but I don't believe him. So, he calls the same trainer, Jamie, at Sencore who confirms that all he has to do is calibrate on component and all other inputs will be calibrated. I don't believe this, so I decide to pass. Now I am down to my last resort: the dreaded Geek Squad. Stay tuned for further details of the ongoing drama!

(If I am wrong about the inputs, will someone more knowledgeable, like Kevin or Kal, please chime in. My understanding is that each input has to be calibrated separately. Thanks.)
rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008   #5
Super Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Redding, CT USA
Posts: 203
Lightbulb The Calibration Nightmare - Be GONE!

Quote:
Originally Posted by rex View Post
That would be great if Kevin knew someone. But I live in the middle of the boondocks, so my options are limited. There were two ISF calibrators in this area listed on the ISF website. So next, I called the second one. He comes over and starts hooking up his equipment to the component inputs. I tell him that I don't use component, just HDMI, (one for BD and one for Dish). He says that if he does the calibration using components, the TV will be calibrated on all inputs; but I don't believe him. So, he calls the same trainer, Jamie, at Sencore who confirms that all he has to do is calibrate on component and all other inputs will be calibrated. I don't believe this, so I decide to pass. Now I am down to my last resort: the dreaded Geek Squad. Stay tuned for further details of the ongoing drama!

(If I am wrong about the inputs, will someone more knowledgeable, like Kevin or Kal, please chime in. My understanding is that each input has to be calibrated separately. Thanks.)
Normally, each input can (and should) be calibrated separately using the source and a test disc to generate signals. However, their are exceptions.

Your Samsung HL67A750 is a case of confusion by the Sencore trained ISF calibrators, who are only trained to deal with the basics. The rule of thumb is: only work with someone who has owned or reviewed the equipment in question. Otherwise it is total hit or miss.

So, I am going out into the world and find me this exact television to give you the answer!

Be back to you, shortly!
__________________
Cheers -

Jeremy

The Kipnis Studios
www.Kipnis-Studios.com

Video Calibration Labs
www.VideoCalibration.com

Epiphany Recordings Ltd.
www.EpiphanyRecordings.com

----------

KSS DL.TV Video Feature (NEW)
http://www.kipnis-studios.com/The_Ki...TV_-_6_08.html
The Kipnis Studios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008   #6
Super Member
 
JerryDelColliano's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beverly Hills
Posts: 1,423
Default Re: Calibration Nightmare

CCA ironically as Rex mentioned is Samsung's ad agency that ignores us.
__________________
---
Jerry Del Colliano
JerryDelColliano is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

Tags
box, cable, calibration, cca, geek, hdmi, hl67a750, menu, pattern, professional, samsung, service, squad, test, tv

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pioneer calibration i30krab Video Processors, Technology & Calibration 9 06-20-2008 01:01 AM
HDMI, Easy or Nightmare? How was your experience? TheMoose HDMI 25 06-16-2008 04:33 PM
THX Optimizer for calibration rex Video Processors, Technology & Calibration 10 04-30-2008 12:22 PM
DirecTV nightmare continues - Do I need a new dish? JerryDelColliano Satellite Receivers, DVRs & Cable Boxes 25 11-07-2007 08:43 AM
What is the best Video Calibration disc? JerryDelColliano Video Processors, Technology & Calibration 7 10-05-2007 09:01 AM




SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1