Audio Video Revolution Forum

Audio Video Revolution Forum (http://www.avrev.com/forum/index.php)
-   Subwoofers (http://www.avrev.com/forum/subwoofers-19/)
-   -   What about HSU Research? (http://www.avrev.com/forum/subwoofers/1512-what-about-hsu-research.html)

eltabor 01-29-2008 10:40 AM

What about HSU Research?

Maybe I don't want Velodyne or JBL. I have been looking at the HSU website and as many articles I can find. If all is true that would be the way to go. HSU says it matches up well with Onkyo receivers because of the crossover network and I own an Onkyo TXSR 605. From what I gather Outlaw is a pricier clone of HSU. HSU's loudspeakers are horn loaded like JBL's higher end models,which I also own(JBL). All of this sounds like a good fit for what I already have in place and reasonably priced. I am a carpenter and substitute mailman, so I don't make a great deal of money. What do you guys think?

JerryDelColliano 01-29-2008 11:36 AM

Re: What about HSU Research?

A LOT of guys use HSU on the forum. I have tried to do business with them but they want NOTHING to do with us. They seem to like to advertise on more obscure sites. I hear their woofers are quite good nonetheless.

If it matters, I am adding a second woofer to my reference theater that is a Definitive Super Cube. Real small. Real powerful. Paradigm and B&W are very good too. Blue chip investment as well.

j

Silver Supra 01-29-2008 11:45 AM

HSU has a good reputation and their chief competition seems to be SVS (www.svsound.com). After much research I went with an SVS PB12 +/2 and it was
phenomenal IMO. The guys at SVS were great to work with too and they offered tons of advice (typically responding via email within the hour - even on weekends!).

I dont think you can really go wrong with either.

JerryDelColliano 03-30-2008 08:51 AM

I see SVS even more on the Internet as they are building a nice reputation for themselves as a value oriented performance line of subs.