Audio Video Revolution Forum  

Go Back   Audio Video Revolution Forum > Everything HDTV, High-end Video, HD DVD, Blu-ray and beyond > Satellite Receivers, DVRs & Cable Boxes

Satellite Receivers, DVRs & Cable Boxes Having firmware issues with your DVR? Does your TiVo always miss the last few minutes of the game? Does your MPEG-4 cable box have issues? Discuss here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2008   #7
Super Member
 
TheMoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oklahoma (Go Sooners!!)
Posts: 1,243
Default Re: Help needed with DirecTV HD21

Quote:
Originally Posted by JerryDelColliano View Post
This isn't working.

I just went to the guide to select "Pairings with Andrea (immer - she is SO CUTE)" on Food Network HD. I hit Guite, select - and it kicks me right back to live HDTV - NOT to any record options.

How do you get to specific record options? The record button the remote automatically starts recording things but doesn't set season pass or anything like that?
Is the show you you hit select on live or in the future?
Because if it's live then select will kick you straight to the program.
In a live program you hit info, when the info banner comes down hit select & you will get the screen to let you record once or record series.
In a program that's on in the future the select button takes you straight to the record screen.

I haven't seen the HR21 but it can't be that much different to my HR20.
TheMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008   #8
Super Member
 
TheMoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oklahoma (Go Sooners!!)
Posts: 1,243
Default Re: Help needed with DirecTV HD21

Did ya ever figure it out?
TheMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008   #9
Super Member
 
JerryDelColliano's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beverly Hills
Posts: 1,423
Default Re: Help needed with DirecTV HD21

I have made some progress.

Their DVR sucks compared to TiVo. Not even close.

I have the thing recording but still have two main issues:
- Having a hard time specifying how to record ONLY in HD. For example, I would like to record HBO's Entourage but only in HD. I tried doing a serach by channel for ch70 (HBOHD) but it isn't listed there. Its only on 502 and I don't think it is in HD. I know the show is in HD however.
- How do you tell the receiver to ignore the SD channels for channel surfing? For example: I like to watch channels from 265 to 295 (A&E to the Millatary channel). Now many of the channels like A&E, BIO, Nat-Geo and others have both SD and HD channels thus you have to flip through both formats to see what is on.

Any ideas on these fronts?

j
__________________
---
Jerry Del Colliano
JerryDelColliano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008   #10
Super Member
 
TheMoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oklahoma (Go Sooners!!)
Posts: 1,243
Default Re: Help needed with DirecTV HD21

Quote:
Originally Posted by JerryDelColliano View Post
I have made some progress.

Their DVR sucks compared to TiVo. Not even close.

I have the thing recording but still have two main issues:
- Having a hard time specifying how to record ONLY in HD. For example, I would like to record HBO's Entourage but only in HD. I tried doing a serach by channel for ch70 (HBOHD) but it isn't listed there. Its only on 502 and I don't think it is in HD. I know the show is in HD however.
- How do you tell the receiver to ignore the SD channels for channel surfing? For example: I like to watch channels from 265 to 295 (A&E to the Millatary channel). Now many of the channels like A&E, BIO, Nat-Geo and others have both SD and HD channels thus you have to flip through both formats to see what is on.

Any ideas on these fronts?

j
I can't help with the channel search since I've never done that but you should be able to find Entourage HD in a title search.
It should list it with & without the HD symbol, just choose the one with the HD symbol.

I can help on getting rid of the SD channels in your guide.

I'm guessing you are using the "all channels" option for your guide, this will show both SD & HD channels, you need to set up a favorites list with just the channels you want on it.
I'm at work so I'm guessing here but it should be close.
Go to favorites, then edit & set up new list.
It will ask you to name the new list & then take you to a list of all the channels you get.
You then go through all the channels & delete the ones you don't want in your guide (for example click to remove A&E but leave A&EHD) by hitting the select button & unchecking the box next to what you want to delete & yes you'll have to do this on each DVR.

the plus side is only the channels you watch will be in the guide so when surfing you don't have to deal with all the pay per view channels & out of area sports & networks.

The block between A&EHD & the military channel is where I do most of my surfing too!
TheMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008   #11
Super Member
 
TheMoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oklahoma (Go Sooners!!)
Posts: 1,243
Default Re: Help needed with DirecTV HD21

Hey Jerry, did you get it figured out?
TheMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008   #12
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 170
Default Re: Help needed with DirecTV HD21

Jerry -

If you want to ignore all the SD duplicate channels do this:

Menu -> Help & Settings -> Setup -> Display

There is an option to Hide SD duplicates.

As for the DVR search - I agree it sucks.

But... when and if it finds the show you want just select the HD channel and record it. Then it will record the instances of that show on that channel which will be HD.
Silver Supra is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

Tags
20, center, channels, compare, deletes, directv, disable, dupilcates, hd, hd21, hide, media, receiver, remote, sd

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How many outlets needed? TheMoose AC Power 3 07-23-2013 12:35 AM
Recommendations for a Pre-Amp needed LindaE Preamps (Audio & Video) 26 04-08-2008 06:32 PM
The NHL in HD - its getting better on DirecTV JerryDelColliano What's on HDTV? 2 02-05-2008 06:37 PM
DirecTV has no more HD TiVos JerryDelColliano Satellite Receivers, DVRs & Cable Boxes 0 10-19-2007 05:52 PM
DirecTV HR-20 TheMoose Satellite Receivers, DVRs & Cable Boxes 7 10-10-2007 05:44 AM




SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1