Audio Video Revolution Forum  

Go Back   Audio Video Revolution Forum > Loudspeakers > Room Acoustics & Audio System Setup

Room Acoustics & Audio System Setup No one factor impacts the sound of your system more. Ask questions and share advice on room treatments, room tuning and acoustics here.

Old 09-05-2008   #1
Baz

Default HELP! Will My 7.1 Rear Speaker Set-UP Work My Room?

Hello!

I am a novice so please bear with me! My room is (W13ft x L11.8ft x H7.8ft), and I have limited options on where to place my rear speakers - I already have a 7.1 speaker set which I thought was required for a 7.1 av amp and to make use of the new HD sound formats. The back wall is 13ft wide and my listening position is right up against it so I have to place two speakers about 4ft to 5ft apart on this back wall & two further rear speakers on the side walls facing inwards. Again, due to limited mounting options, I can only really place all rears high up at where the walls & ceiling meet.

I would like to ask, if this will work or is suitable for my room, if it will not sound any good or just totally mess the sounds up? I was trying to future proof myself once and for all as once all the wiring is done, I will not have the option of changing it without having to strip the whole room again! I have posted a pic below so you can all get an idea of what I mean! Many thanks!

Baz!
Baz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008   #2

Default Re: HELP! Will My 7.1 Rear Speaker Set-UP Work My Room?

I have a similar set-up in my bedroom, except due to architectural angles on walls, I have all four across the back on an angle. Mine sounds about as good as it can due to wall limitations, so I think you will be ok with your set-up.
rlpiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008   #3
Baz

Default Re: HELP! Will My 7.1 Rear Speaker Set-UP Work My Room?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rlpiii View Post