Audio Video Revolution Forum

Audio Video Revolution Forum (http://www.avrev.com/forum/index.php)
-   Receivers (http://www.avrev.com/forum/receivers-39/)
-   -   extending AV to 2 channel (http://www.avrev.com/forum/receivers/856-extending-av-2-channel.html)

David in Vermont 10-05-2007 06:19 AM

extending AV to 2 channel

Hi
I am new at this so please bear with me. I am by no means an audiophile but I certainly enjoy music and video and want to make the most of it. I own a pretty decent Denon Av receiver, I believe its a model 1803. this component allows for output to a second amplifier for use in other parts of my home. I also own an old Yamaha "Natural Sound" integrated AMP and Tuner from my college days that frankly sounds great and packs a lot of punch. I'd like to extend the system so that I can have 2 additional speakers in the dining room and back deck. My question is, can I connect an older 2/4 channel stereo Integrated amp to a much newer surround sound receiver and still get quality results? How would the connections be accomplished?
Thank you

tigeraudio2007 10-05-2007 02:42 PM

Re: extending AV to 2 channel

If it is the 1803 you have then it is not capable of have a dedicated Zone 2 output. You could however fake a zone 2 by connecting your other room speakers to the Surround Back speaker terminal outputs of the Denon. There should be a button on the front panel to turn Surround Backs on and off. Through this use the Surround Backs would function as a Speaker B output. The speakers in your dining room/back deck would have to be connected these outputs. There is no need for a second receiver unless you want the source to be separate from what is playing on the Denon.