Audio Video Revolution Forum  

Go Back   Audio Video Revolution Forum > Remotes, Home Automation and PC Convergence > Home Automation

Home Automation Talk about everything Crestron, AMX, Control 4 and beyond.

View Poll Results: Why haven't you automated your system yet?
It's too expensive to buy the gear and pay for the labor. 3 42.86%
My walls are plaster and I dont want to run control wires through them. 0 0%
My spouce won't let me. 0 0%
I love a sea of remotes on my coffee table. 1 14.29%
I saw Ozzy Osbourne try to use a Crestron and he looked too confused. 2 28.57%
I already have an automated system and it rocks. 1 14.29%
I already have an automated system and it sucks. 0 0%
Voters: 7. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-24-2007   #1
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 695
Default Why have you not automated your system yet?

Tell us why you haven't (or have) automated your system.
AVRevForum.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007   #2
Super Member
 
TheMoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oklahoma (Go Sooners!!)
Posts: 1,243
Default Re: Why have you not automated your system yet?

Hey if Ozzy can't figure it out what chance do I have!!

While I was sick & tired of the sea of remotes I went the working mans way & got a Harmony 880.
When I build my next house hopefully it won't cost as much as a car to go whole house automation & I'll look in to it but for now my 880 does what I need.
TheMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007   #3
Super Member
 
kennyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,422
Default Re: Why have you not automated your system yet?

I'm with Moose, I use the Harmony remotes. My house was built in 1988, long before wiring with CAT 5 was the norm and it is not practical, nor necessary for my 3,500 Sq-Ft house to have automation.... Cool, but not needed.
__________________
Ken Taraszka, MD
Associate Editor
HomeTheaterReview
kennyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2007   #4
Super Member
 
kennyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,422
Default Re: Why have you not automated your system yet?

I recently saw the URC MSC 400, which allows a single remote to control things by IR/RF/RS-232..... I can't wait for Harmony to make somethign like this! I will be on it ASAP!
__________________
Ken Taraszka, MD
Associate Editor
HomeTheaterReview
kennyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007   #5
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: CharmCity MD
Posts: 3
Default Re: Why have you not automated your system yet?

What's a "spouce"?
WRRHalum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 47
Default Re: Why have you not automated your system yet?

I'm waiting for the CE vendors to offer the sort of control interfaces that are possible with current technologies and for which standards (more than one unfortunately) exist. HDMI for example, supports a sophisticated control structure (CEC) in which all connected components are controlled through the display device (the monitor). A single remote controls everything, with no programming. A few vendors have included this capability in their product suites, but there is no reason that this control method can't be applied across all vendors.

At an even more sophisticated level, there's Devices Profile for Web Services (DPWS) in which all devices on a network can present their control interfaces to a browser.

I saw some at Good Sounds Home Theater (www.goodsoundshometheater.com)
CharlyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

Tags
amx, automated, crestron, goodsoundshometheatercom, home, osbourne, ozzy, sucks, video, yet

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off





SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1