Audio Video Revolution Forum  

Go Back   Audio Video Revolution Forum > Remotes, Home Automation and PC Convergence > Home Automation

Home Automation Talk about everything Crestron, AMX, Control 4 and beyond.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2009   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 4
Question Problem with Elan System 12 output

I am having problems with an Elan System 12.
I have programed the zones and associated each zone to an specific output but when I select the zone and an input, nothing comes out of the zone. I have plugged the zone’s amplifier directly into its loop output of the selected input and get audio but not when I plug it in to the zone output. Any suggestions?
mjames007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009   #2
Administrator
 
rbinck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 768
Default Re: Problem with Elan System 12 output

Welcome to the forum. I am not familiar with that system. Hopefully someone will be able to help.
rbinck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009   #3
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 4
Default Re: Problem with Elan S12 output

It is actually an Elan S12 controller and it is beginning to look like it is a hardware problem.

I have tired selecting the zone and input from the front panel and checking the volume but still do not get an output from any of the zones. I have also tried moving the source to different channels but again nothing. I had hoped I was just missing something simple that somehow got changed in the programming. I have even tried defaulting the controller and then reloading the configuration, still no luck.
mjames007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009   #4
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 4
Default Re: Problem with Elan System 12 output

The S12 is replacing an old and now faulty Elan HDC 2000 and will initially being controlled by the existing Z100/150 keypads, to be replaced with other control options over time. I was testing using the S12 front panel controls, to simplify troubleshooting.
The current environment requires the use of both variable and fixed outputs, to accommodate connection to a separate audio system and outdoor speakers with their own seperate volume controls.
Via Tools was used to program the system and keypads.
mjames007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009   #5
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 4
Default Re: Problem with Elan System 12 output

Update: The unit was returned to Elan, who were not able to repair the unit but graciously provide me with a Stock Replacement S12, so now things are up and running again. Thank you Elan!
Just for information, the total charge for the repair was $750.00.
Next step is to replace the old keypads and we are thinking of going with a Home Logic solution because the customer wants full feedback of his non elan components.
mjames007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

Tags
12, amplifiers, av, codes, elan, latest, output, problems, s12, setup, software, system, troubleshooting, version, z100

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elan Home System Problems Donf214 Home Automation 2 09-10-2010 11:11 AM
Issues With an ELAN System pullyalater Home Automation 3 03-10-2010 09:06 AM
Audio Problem ChiefTK Plasma and LCD HDTV 2 04-25-2009 07:37 PM
What is the biggest problem currently in your system? AVRevForum.com System Advice 18 09-21-2007 06:43 AM




SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1