Audio Video Revolution Forum  

Go Back   Audio Video Revolution Forum > Everything HDTV, High-end Video, HD DVD, Blu-ray and beyond > HDMI

HDMI Switchers, cables, routers, HDCP copy protection and more discussed here.

View Poll Results: Do you use HDMI to connect your audio system?
Yes, HDMI 2-channel 0 0%
Yes, HDMI PCM Multi-Channel 6 46.15%
Yes, HDMI Bitstream Multi-Channel 0 0%
No, I use Toslink 5 38.46%
No, I use Digital Coaxial 2 15.38%
Huh?? 0 0%
Voters: 13. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2007   #7
Super Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 105
Default Re: Do you use HDMI for your audio?

I use firewire in my 5.1 system with HDMI for video. In my stereo system I use Toslink.

Greg
gstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2007   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa Bay
Posts: 83
Thumbs down Re: Do you use HDMI for your audio?

What no one seems to be discussing is that many of us have none HDCP
compliant HD sets! I have a Yamaha DP-X 1 projector. The DVI input is worthless and I must use the Component RGB analog input. This unit
costs over $10,000....so now is the FCC going to make it obsolete?
Yamaha has no update for this product. They suggest I just buy a new projector!
PalmHarbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2007   #9
Super Member
 
TheMoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oklahoma (Go Sooners!!)
Posts: 1,243
Default Re: Do you use HDMI for your audio?

Yep I use HDMI PCM Multi-Channel in my Denon 3808CI with the PS3 & use HDMI audio in all my other gear.
TheMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2007   #10
Super Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 193
Default Re: Do you use HDMI for your audio?

PalmHarbor,

Why is the DVI port useless? You can get DVI/HDMI adapters.

Also, even if you do use Component inputs, this does not mean that the FCC has anything to do with that. The FCC is just removing analog broadcasts by TV networks. If you have a $10,000 projector then you probably can afford to spend a little bit a month on a satellite or digital cable service. I wouldn't be running analog broadcasts through a projector. Not with all the other options out there.

If it is not HDCP compliant then yes unfortunately you are stuck with Component for most devices, not all, but most. Sorry.

You can attempt to sell the Yamaha projector you have and put the money toward a modestly priced Sony Pearl VPL 50. You won't be disappointed with that component. Just ask Andrew, the Managaing Editor.
tigeraudio2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2007   #11
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 104
Talking Re: Do you use HDMI for your audio?

I haven't sprung for the Anthem upgrade yet, so I run the HDMI for video and toslink for audio. Another $2k and my Anthem will be upgraded. After the 2-4 week wait. Damn technology upgrades!!!
J.J. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007   #12
Super Member
 
JerryDelColliano's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beverly Hills
Posts: 1,423
Default Re: Do you use HDMI for your audio?

Quote:
Originally Posted by J.J. View Post
I haven't sprung for the Anthem upgrade yet, so I run the HDMI for video and toslink for audio. Another $2k and my Anthem will be upgraded. After the 2-4 week wait. Damn technology upgrades!!!
-----

Be glad Anthem makes these upgrades for you. In fact they are the BEST at HDMI as far as I can see.

I personally am not using HDMI for audio because I can't get it to switch effectivley for video thus requiring me to pull my rackout (going outside to get rack rails) and rebooting the system. I know it costs me some video quality but I would rather watch component right now as opposed to restarting my system everytime I want to watch it.

I WILL be getting an HDMI upgrade soon likely when I get my Meridian 861 upgraded.
__________________
---
Jerry Del Colliano
JerryDelColliano is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

Tags
audio, bitstream, card, copy, hdmi, input, only, out, pc, pcm, protected, raudio, receivers, sound, systems, tv, video

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDMI 1.3 Sound Card Enables Bitstream Audio for your HTPC tigeraudio2007 Media Center PC 0 06-20-2008 11:01 AM
HDMI vs HDMI 1.3 cables...and... BYU Cougar HDMI 15 10-24-2007 05:25 PM
Does HDMI Video signal cancel other audio? BYU Cougar HDMI 3 10-05-2007 04:55 PM




SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1