Audio Video Revolution Forum  

Go Back   Audio Video Revolution Forum > Everything HDTV, High-end Video, HD DVD, Blu-ray and beyond > HDMI

HDMI Switchers, cables, routers, HDCP copy protection and more discussed here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2009   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 3
Default No signal with hdmi

I just purchased a new samsung lcd hdtv. I am trying to connect it to my direct tv hd reciever. The tv works fine when using the component cables for sound and audio, although pic. is not that great. I was told that I need to switch over to an hdmi cable to get the hd picture. I am told you just plug one end of the hdmi cable into the hdmi slot on the reciever and the other end into the hdmi slot on the tv. (My tv has 4 hdmi slots.)When I do this my tv does not get a signal from my satellite reciever but does recognize that the hdmi cable is being used.. Any help?
Thanks
waltc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009   #2
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Catskill Mts.
Posts: 1
Default Re: No signal with hdmi

Try plugging HDMI cable into HDMI 1 on your TV, then open the menu on TV and find the place it lets you to make selections on this, such as Satellite or HDMI 1. One of these selections have to work.
mailmanbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009   #3
Administrator
 
rbinck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 767
Default Re: No signal with hdmi

Some of the receivers will require you to setup the HDMI port. Others require the component cables be disconnected for the HDMI to work. As mailmanbob said, one of the inputs should work for you.
rbinck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 15
Default Re: No signal with hdmi

My sony works with it done either way

Last edited by Flay; 05-08-2009 at 10:06 AM..
photogray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009   #5
Administrator
 
rbinck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 767
Default Re: No signal with hdmi

Quote:
Originally Posted by photogray View Post
My sony works with it done either way
Is that an audio receiver? I think the OP was talking about a cable or satellite receiver.
rbinck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009   #6
Super Member
 
Loves2Watch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lost Causes, Mew Nexico
Posts: 153
Default Re: No signal with hdmi

BTW, if you are in fact using component cables (red,green, blue) for video and other(s) for audio, there should be no difference in picture quality vs. HDMI. So if your picture isn't good then some adjustments need to be made within your DirecTV box for 1080, 16x9 and the like.
__________________
Anthem, Conrad Johnson, Dish Network/JVC, Dynaudio, Infinity, Integra, JL Audio, Klipsch, Magnepan, Marantz, Martin Logan, Onkyo, Oppo, Outlaw Audio, Panasonic, Paradigm, REL, Sumiko, SVSound, and Toshiba are the brands equipment I currently use. I have owned/used and tested equipment made by just about any manufacturer you can name.
Loves2Watch is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

Tags
audio, blue, cable, connect, direct, dvd, hdmi, ray, satelite, signal, signalhdmi, slot, tv, video, week

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Impact Acoustics Releases HDMI Repeater Allowing For 200 Feet of Signal AVRevForum.com HDMI 1 07-08-2009 10:27 AM
signal cable Robinson_A Cables 1 02-15-2008 04:59 PM
Does a video processor work if the signal is already 1080p? Neil Peart Video Processors, Technology & Calibration 1 11-11-2007 02:03 PM
Does HDMI Video signal cancel other audio? BYU Cougar HDMI 3 10-05-2007 04:55 PM
NBC HD signal and shows look horrible lately tigeraudio2007 What's on HDTV? 3 10-04-2007 07:47 AM




SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1