Audio Video Revolution Forum  

Go Back   Audio Video Revolution Forum > Everything HDTV, High-end Video, HD DVD, Blu-ray and beyond > HD DVD Software & Hardware

HD DVD Software & Hardware Here is a place to post on everything and anything HD DVD. Toshiba's dead format lives on here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2007   #13
Super Member
 
kennyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,422
Default Re: Toshiba A3, or A30 for 1080i big screen?

Merton,

IF you are sure you won't be upgrading your TV any time soon, then you will do fine with 1080i as that is all your set will display. If you can get the $98 Walmart special, good for you! With the five free discs it essentially makes the player free!
__________________
Ken Taraszka, MD
Associate Editor
HomeTheaterReview
kennyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007   #14
Super Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: White Plains, New York
Posts: 1,706
Thumbs up Re: Toshiba A3, or A30 for 1080i big screen?

kennyt, Just a heads up. I`m pretty sure now where I`m going to rent my movies. I was going to go the Netflix route, but I just found out that Stop and Shop, yes the big chain food store, rents movies for $1.00 per night. I rented "The Rise of the Silver Surfer" saturday night.
I know, I do have to drive there, but that is hard to beat.
deacongreg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007   #15
Super Member
 
kennyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,422
Default Re: Toshiba A3, or A30 for 1080i big screen?

Do they have Blu-ray and HD DVD? If they do I am totally impressed and would go rent them as I could buy some beer to go with.....

One stop shopping!
__________________
Ken Taraszka, MD
Associate Editor
HomeTheaterReview
kennyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007   #16
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 1
Default Re: Toshiba A3, or A30 for 1080i big screen?

I just bought my A30 last night from Circuit City. It's hooked up via HDMI and I changed the settings to "up to 1080p". I put in Swordfish and clicked on the display button to show me what type of picture was being displayed. Low and behold it stayed in 1080i the whole time. Is there something else I need to do?
jdeering is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

Tags
1080i, 1080p, a3, big, calibration, code, display, format, hdmi, kdf50a10, kdfe50a10, problems, sale, screen, toshiba, version

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toshiba A30 - $149: Great Deal BDP HD DVD Software & Hardware 0 02-07-2008 11:28 AM
720p or 1080i rjebsen Plasma and LCD HDTV 1 12-27-2007 08:04 AM
Oppo shows us their 720p/1080i upconverting DVD player AVRevForum.com Source Components 0 07-23-2007 07:01 PM
720P vs 1080i? bk jackson Plasma and LCD HDTV 8 07-17-2007 11:34 AM




SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1