Audio Video Revolution Forum  

Go Back   Audio Video Revolution Forum > Audio-Video Electronics > Cables

Cables It's all about connections. Discuss everything about audio cables ranging from balanced to unbalanced, speaker cables to interconnects and beyond.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2011   #1
Member
 
Big Tex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 6
Question CAT 5 or CAT 6 for HDMI?

I understand that some installers are running CAT5 or CAT6 in place of HDMI, especially for long runs. I have roughly a 50' run and want it to be 1.4a. Is anyone familiar with this, and is a double run required? Also, how is it terminated? This would probably be fairly expensive, and I can get a good quality 50' 22 guage 1.4a HDMI cable for under $150. I would appreciate comments and suggestions.
Big Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011   #2
Administrator
 
rbinck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 767
Default Re: CAT 5 or CAT 6 for HDMI?

Yes the baluns require 2 cat5e or cat6 runs. The cost will be more than $150 for quality baluns. Key Digital makes quality baluns for this application. Check http://www.keydigital.com/ for termination details.

If you are going to install this yourself the cable route would be better at that length, imo.
rbinck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011   #3
Member
 
Big Tex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 6
Default Re: CAT 5 or CAT 6 for HDMI?

I am not sure what a balun is. I guess it is a termination for the CAT cable? You said I would be better to go the cable route if doing it myself. Do you mean the pre-made HDMI cable? I am leaning in that direction. I understand that 5' is about the max to still retain peformance, is that correct?
Big Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011   #4
Administrator
 
rbinck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 767
Default Re: CAT 5 or CAT 6 for HDMI?

Baluns are sort of like transformers. I was talking about a pre-made HDMI cable that you mentioned. 5' is not the limit, I think somebody dropped a zero. 50' is about the limit for HDMI. For greater distances the cat5e route is recommended. Here is the specific link for the baluns: http://www.keydigital.com/IW_Product...RX&Company=KEY

The new ones use a single cat5e/6/7.
rbinck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 18
Default Re: CAT 5 or CAT 6 for HDMI?

A "balun" is an old term for a transformer used to "balance" an analog audio or video signal. Unfortunately people still use it to describe media converters that convert digital signals from one format to another (usually to Cat5/6 or fiber). It's kind of like calling a sham-wow a paper towel.

Anyway, we haven't had very good luck with KeyDigital (or Gefen). The Lumagen and Ethereal products have been pretty reliable, but they aren't cheap.

I'd be very suspicious of a 1.4-rated 50' HDMI cable that was under $150. I've seen some that cost 3-5x as much that didn't function properly and none under $250 that produced a usable picture at all. More power to you if it works, especially if it lasts for more than a couple of months.
AudAdv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011   #6
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Albany, Indiana
Posts: 2
Default Re: CAT 5 or CAT 6 for HDMI?

HDMI 50 foot run? Forget passive. You will need to go with an active HDMI run if you wish to avoid TWO cables for CAT5 or CAT6.
RAMISki is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

Tags
14a, balums, balun, cat, cat5, cat6, cat6e, digital, foorumi, forum, hdmi, key, type, video

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Teq AV/IT Releases HDMI-DVI Extender over CAT6 Cable - HDMI 1.3 compatible AVRevForum.com HDMI 0 10-06-2008 09:30 AM
Extron Introduces RGB-HDMI 300 - Converts Component/RGBHV to HDMI AVRevForum.com Video Processors, Technology & Calibration 0 08-06-2008 09:13 AM
HDMI vs HDMI 1.3 cables...and... BYU Cougar HDMI 15 10-24-2007 05:25 PM




SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1