Audio Video Revolution Forum  

Go Back   Audio Video Revolution Forum > Everything HDTV, High-end Video, HD DVD, Blu-ray and beyond > Blu-ray Players

Blu-ray Players Discuss everything to do with the best in Blu-ray players.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2008   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Default Just bought PS3 - audio connection to tube preamp question(s)

Hi,

I just bought the 40 GB PS3 primarily as a Blu-Ray / DVD Player and I suppose even CD and SACD player. I began to hook it up and I quickly became confused. I don't want to go too far without asking some questions so that it is "new enough" to return if it won't do what I want it to do. I am surprised by no RCA outputs. DVI with RCA out for audio would have been really nice.

my setup:
A. Equipment
TV - New Sony HDTV with HDMI and all kinds of other inputs. Does have RCA audio outputs.
Preamp- vacuum tube audiophile snob pre-amp with ONLY RCA inputs.
DAC- I have a D-A Converter that has digital optical input.
B. I am using the above equipment with the PS3 to play DVDs, Blu-Ray, CD and SACD in a Hafler Matrix rear recovery home theatre system. You may not have heard of the idea, few have. In really brief details, it is not "steered" like pretty much every other home theatre implementation. The front channels are left alone and the ambient information is culled FROM the stereo signal and played through the rears and Center channels. Here is a review of a Hi-Fi piece from a few years ago that did it pretty well: http://www.stereophile.com/tubepreamps/844/index.html

Questions:
1. What quality of sound are you getting from the PS3 as a CD Player ? as a SACD player ? as a DVD Player ? I kind of hope that you have good stand alones to compare it to...? The question is relative...

2. I intend to take the digital optical out of the PS3 into the digital optical input of my DAC and run the ps3 HDMI into the HDMI of my TV for DVD and CD. Can I expect good sound going this route, assuming a good DAC, etc... (in other words, is the PS3 and its hookup scenario going to be good)?

3. If you use your PS3 to play SACDs how are you connecting it ? What is the best way for me to do so, remembering that my preamp is a tube job with only RCA inputs. SACD can't go through a DAC. I suppose that I have to take the multi_AV out to RCAs in on my pre-amp. Is there enough bandwidth with that kind of connection ?

Any other input for questions that I should have asked or would have asked if I new more would be appreciated. Caveats, too...

Thanks!

B
brjoon1021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008   #2
Super Member
 
kennyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,422
Default Re: Just bought PS3 - audio connection to tube preamp question(s)

Quote:
Originally Posted by brjoon1021 View Post
Questions:
1. What quality of sound are you getting from the PS3 as a CD Player ? as a SACD player ? as a DVD Player ? I kind of hope that you have good stand alones to compare it to...? The question is relative...

2. I intend to take the digital optical out of the PS3 into the digital optical input of my DAC and run the ps3 HDMI into the HDMI of my TV for DVD and CD. Can I expect good sound going this route, assuming a good DAC, etc... (in other words, is the PS3 and its hookup scenario going to be good)?

3. If you use your PS3 to play SACDs how are you connecting it ? What is the best way for me to do so, remembering that my preamp is a tube job with only RCA inputs. SACD can't go through a DAC. I suppose that I have to take the multi_AV out to RCAs in on my pre-amp. Is there enough bandwidth with that kind of connection ?
1. I find the PS3 pretty weak sonically for Blu-rays, the bass is lacking as is some detail, now mind you I have to use an optical cable vs the coaxials from my other Blu-ray players (Sony BDP-S1, Samsung BDP-1000, Samsung BDP-1200) and picture was better from each and every stand alone player.

2. Haven't tried the PS3 as a CD source, SACD obviously won't work via optical digital out.

3. I believe you need to hook the PS3 up via HDMI for SACD, though I am not sure on this one, I do not have the multi AV cable to try stereo analog outs.
__________________
Ken Taraszka, MD
Associate Editor
HomeTheaterReview
kennyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008   #3
Super Member
 
TheMoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oklahoma (Go Sooners!!)
Posts: 1,243
Default Re: Just bought PS3 - audio connection to tube preamp question(s)

Well your first problem is the 40G won't play SACD's, you need the 80G for that, that was one of the cost cutting things on the lower priced model.

SACD will only play through HDMI

You can use the stock multi AV connector & use the RCA stereo outputs for audio, I think you can go in the setup menu & choose what ever audio output you want.
It will only output 1 audio source at a time if I remember right so if you want to watch a movie using HDMI or Toslink audio you have to change the settings in the menu again.

I'm using HDMI for all my audio on my 60G PS3 including SACD.
TheMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008   #4
BDP
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 50
Default Re: Just bought PS3 - audio connection to tube preamp question(s)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMoose View Post
I'm using HDMI for all my audio on my 60G PS3 including SACD.

Likewise I use HDMI on my 80gb model with no issues. The sound quality to me is the same that my A20 puts out for movies and it's also hooked up via HDMI.
BDP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008   #5
Super Member
 
rlpiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 506
Default Re: Just bought PS3 - audio connection to tube preamp question(s)

Because my Yamaha receiver does not pass 1080p, I use HDMI out of my 60GB PS3 for video only, and fiber for audio. I have not noticed the lack of base detail as Ken suggests, but since this is a bedroom set-up for me, I probably have not paid that close attention.

I would suggest keeping the PS3 continuously plugged into the internet. I have noticed updates are much smoother for me with it set-up that way.
rlpiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008   #6
Super Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 938
Default Re: Just bought PS3 - audio connection to tube preamp question(s)

My suggestion is buy an inexpensive Pre-Pro for movie playback that accepts HDMI 1.3.

At some point soon Outlaw Audio will be announcing one.
Lotus is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

Tags
analog, audio, cd, connection, connections, hdmi, hooking, player, playstation, preamp, ps3, rca, sound, tube, video

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Stupid Audio Question rex Surround Sound 1 07-02-2008 08:30 PM
connection question... clownt33 Receivers 4 12-20-2007 11:00 PM
Question about PS3 and Blu-Ray "Profiles" gbeenie Blu-ray Players 1 11-19-2007 06:44 AM
PS3 as a Blu Ray -- Question jdh226 Blu-ray Players 3 09-18-2007 05:41 PM
Outlaw Audio Model 990 AV Preamp AVRevForum.com Preamps (Audio & Video) 0 05-23-2007 03:30 PM




SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1