Audio Video Revolution Forum  

Go Back   Audio Video Revolution Forum > Audio-Video Electronics > AC Power

AC Power Getting clean, reliable power to your system is a major topic. Discuss solutions and applications here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2008   #19
Super Member
 
kennyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,422
Default Re: Which power supply???

Quote:
Originally Posted by HT Junky View Post
You were dead on in your review of the PurePower stuff. I have the 1050, which is much larger than the 700. I'm noticing all of the benefits that you mentioned.
Glad to hear you agree and like the PurePower stuff!!!!

You can see why when I was doing the review, after I progressively added components, I first called the AV Rack company (AudiAV) to add a shelf! There was no way that thing was leaving my system. I think this is one of the best upgrades I've ever done. The Transparent Reference cables I got a while back are neck and neck with the PP conditioner for first place, both truly elevated my system like no other change I had made.
__________________
Ken Taraszka, MD
Associate Editor
HomeTheaterReview
kennyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008   #20
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Midwest
Posts: 110
Default Re: Which power supply???

It's the one thing you can change that effects EVERY component in your system. The cumulative improvement of effecting every component really makes a noticable difference.
HT Junky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Western NY
Posts: 24
Default Re: Which power supply???

I just bought an APC S15BLK Power condition w/ battery back-up and to say this unit is full featured is an understatement! This unit has 12 isolated outlets, and has provisions for protecting Cable, Satellite, Antenna, Ethernet. You can monitor the power conditioner through the Ethernet hook-up using the supplied software. You can add additional UPS battery modules in a daisy-chain configuration if you need to. The S15 is rated at 900watts and 90% efficient at full load and the battery power mode provides true sine wave AC power. This unit weighs in at 62 lbs and measures 5.25" H x 17" W x 19" D, so you should measure before you order one of these beasts. It does come with every thing you need to mount this in your AV rack and the feet are removable as well. I used to have a Niles power conditioner and I used it for almost everything in my AV system except my amp, since I felt that the Niles would not be able to keep up with power demands. I had no such issues with the APC S15 unit and I plugged everything into it and it handled it just fine. Some of my equipment uses quite a lot of juice, for example my B&K Ref-200.7 is a 7 channel amp rated at 200W/CH, and my 50" Pioneer 1080p Plasma also uses more than its far share of power. The front display of this unit can tell you everything you probably everything need to know about your power. I like that you can see how much load is on the unit, power coming in & going out, how long the unit will run on battery if you loose power, etc, etc. The APC S15 has 4 outlet classifications on the back for Digital (6), Video (2), Analog (2), & High Current (2) each section utilizes unique filtering techniques tailored to each classification. The batteries are supposed to last up to 5 years and are easily changed form the front of the unit once you remove the front panel. This unit retails for $1499, but I was able to get on off the Internet for $932 plus tax and shipping. BTW, the Rotel RLC-1080 power conditioner, which retails at $1600 is based on the APC S15 design, but sports a redesigned front panel to match there other equipment.

Here's a link to the APC S15BLK (S15BLK is Black & the S15 is silver):

http://www.apc.com/resource/include/...ase_sku=S15BLK

Last edited by cujo8; 04-09-2008 at 05:26 AM..
cujo8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008   #22
wes
Super Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 714
Cool Re: Which power supply???

Furman PM-PRO SERIES II POWER CONDITIONER

No thrills but pro quality
wes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008   #23
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Midwest
Posts: 110
Thumbs down Re: Which power supply???

Purepower 1050 just quit working. I hope they have good customer service.

Last edited by HT Junky; 04-11-2008 at 08:15 PM..
HT Junky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Western NY
Posts: 24
Default Re: Which power supply???

Quote:
Originally Posted by HT Junky View Post
Purepower 1050 just quit working. I hope they have good customer service.

Did you check to see if you have a replaceable fuse or reset botton on your power conditioner? Usually they will be near where the power cord plugs into the unit. I'm sure that you checked that your receptical has power, but it never hurts to ask.
cujo8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

Tags
270054, axiom, buzzing, cable, defective, ground, hum, isolator, model, monster, powercenter, ps, surround, system, tv

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audiophile APS 1050 Power Conditioner - More Than A Power Strip In A Box? AVRevForum.com AC Power 15 04-30-2009 04:23 PM
Online UPS for clean power? anm AC Power 0 07-21-2008 04:42 AM
Why I don't belive in power cables JerryDelColliano Cables 2 09-01-2007 10:24 PM
Will the Monster HTS3500 Power Center Regulate your power? AVRevForum.com AC Power 0 07-23-2007 01:21 PM
PS Audio's Power Plant Premiere Robinson_A AC Power 0 06-01-2007 05:20 PM




SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1