View Single Post
Old 06-02-2007   #30
Strutter

Default Re: Price vs. Performance

my first foray into serious audio/video gear began not so long ago. sorry to say i'm fairly new to all of this. being from an area with no high end shops i am limited in my choices. but i buy the best i can for the money of what is available to me. about 6 years ago i bought my first surround system after much investigation i decide upon a denon home theater in a box from sears. for the money it was a great deal. those little denon cubes were good for many years but my abuse finally took its toll. about 2 years ago they gave up from what i later decided was my overdrving them to the point of clipping. thanks to my extended waranty, sears no longer carrying denon and their inability to replace the speakers . i recieved a check from sears for $800 and was allowed to keep the denon reciever and dvd player.(awesome).
i began my search for replacement speakers. during my search i had collected several bestbuy gift cards so i had decided i was going to use those and the check from sears to purchase my new speakers. but they didnt cary anything i liked at the time. i continued searching listening to speakers at as many places as i could find and to my delight found that bestbuy had began carring Klipsch. i had already listened to their reference system from tweeter 60miles away. but after listening to the synergy series at BB and wighing the fact that i could basically buy them with no out of pocket expence my choice was made. the F-3's are awesome speakers. last year i used more gift cards to purchase the C-3, S-3 and Sub-12 with very little of my own money. (i ask for BB cards from everyone at christmas). i have to say that the klipsch synergy F-3 series are the best i had heard before and have sence found nothing to match them at the price. i have sence added a pair of klipsch
AW-650 to the deck outside.