View Single Post
Old 11-19-2009   #52
Dr.Venkmann

Thumbs down Re: Dispelling audio myths, the cable lie

Quote:
Originally Posted by kennyt View Post
wes,

I will only post once to this thread and then never again, well, I hope not to...

The reason being is this debate about cables is a very old one, and one that has strong supporters on both sides. People argue vehemently for their side often at the expense of others.

I am an rarity in this argument, well at least a minority....

I started out believing as this author that wire is wire and shouldn't matter. Then I started playing with different wires, power cords etc and realized they clearly did make a difference, so now I am on the other side, so to speak. This didn't happen overnight, it was a slow and arduous journey with much trial and error, but in the end, I do believe in cables affecting sound.

This is my 0.02 FWIW, I will now leave and hope the rest of you play nice in my absence!

I too believe that cables do make different sounds. That is not the same as better sound. To my horror and embarrassment in a double blind testing of cables put on by the audio club in my town; time after time I could not tell the stock interconnect from the $1500 ones I used. I failed miserably at determining which power cord was which and only in the test against the smallest gauge speaker wire was their and audible improvement by a more expensive wire. No. My ears have been tested and are above average in their capabilities for my age. I have been selling two 5 gallon pails full of expensive audio cables from every high-end weasel that lead me into that slippery world of audio 'placebo effect'. You believe in improvement? You find improvement.