equipment reviews
This Month's Featured Equipment Reviews
Eastern Electric Mini Max Supreme DAC Review
DH Labs Mirage USB Cable Review
SOtM sHP-100 Headphone Amplifier & DSD DAC Review
Marantz PM5005 Integrated Amplifier & CD5005 CD Player Review
Musical Fidelity M6si Integrated Amplifier Review
Latest AV News
AV News Forum Topics:
 
Home Theater Feature Articles
Categories in section: Home Theater Feature Articles
Audio Related Articles (64) Best Of & Top 100 Lists (32) Other (27)
Video Related Articles (36)

Ordering   Advanced search

Title:
Thursday, 13 December 2007 ,  Written by Kim Wilson
title: Bring On The Noise category: Feature Article reviewed by: Kim Wilson Bring On The Noise Most of us take electricity for granted. We plug in a device and flip the switch and expect it to work perfectly. However, as home theater systems feature increasingly more complex and sophisticated configurations, there are more instances of nasty 60 Hz hums, buzzes and other EMI (electro-magnetic interference) related noises which affect the performance of our sound system.
Thursday, 13 December 2007 ,  Written by Jerry Del Colliano
manufacturer: AudioRevolution.com’s Best Music Demos EVER! category: Feature Article reviewed by: Jerry Del Colliano AudioRevolution.com’s Best Music Demos EVER! There is no denying the fact that, as music and audio-video enthusiasts, we constantly search for the best-sounding music to play back on our systems. Here is a list of 24 of my favorite recordings that provide everything from bombastic bass lines to crystal clear imaging to spacey trips to audio outer space. I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.
Thursday, 13 December 2007 ,  Written by Bill Biersach
title: LET IT BE … NAKED date: December 2003 written by: By Bill Biersach When the Beatles met at Twickenham Film Studios on January 2nd, 1969 to begin work on a new project called Get Back, it was viewed by some as an act of desperation. Though their double-album blockbuster The Beatles, informally known as “The White Album,” was greeted with critical acclaim upon its release the previous November, the group found themselves in something of a quandary. They had ceased touring in the fall of 1966 and had devoted themselves exclusively to the technical intricacies of the recording studio environment, a self-indulgence that produced Sgt. Pepper, Magical Mystery Tour, as well as the songs that would appear in the animated feature Yellow Submarine.
Thursday, 13 December 2007 ,  Written by Bryan Dailey
title: AudioRevolution.com Microwave Popcorn Shootout 2000 category: Feature Article review date: July 2000 reviewed by: Bryan Dailey You went to AudioRevolution.com’s DVD reviews and picked out a movie that sounded interesting. Now that you’ve decided on the movie that you will be watching for the evening, its time to make another important decision, that can either make or break the evening. What microwave popcorn will you be enjoying with tonight’s flick? We here at AudioRevolution.com took it upon ourselves to spare no expense and hit all of the Beverly Hills grocery stores to purchase virtually every brand and type of microwave popcorn that we could get our buttery hands on.
Thursday, 13 December 2007 ,  Written by Richard Elen
title: An Instant Introduction to 5.1 Audio category: Feature Article review date: September 2000 reviewed by: Richard Elen An Instant Introduction to 5.1 Audio In the beginning, there was mono, which has but one channel. And mono begat stereo, which hath two channels. And stereo begat a whole set of monsters, of which 5.1 is the result. The term "5.1" refers to the number of channels in the most common of today’s surround-sound configurations. The "5" refers to the five main channels – left front, center front, right front, left surround and right surround – while the ".1" refers to the low frequency effects channel, also known as LFE. Ideally, a 5.1 signal is provided by the source material, such as a DVD-Video disc with a 5.1-channel Dolby AC-3 soundtrack, a DTS-encoded DVD or compact disc, or, increasingly, a satellite TV channel. In many cases, the source is a matrixed surround source, often a two-channel signal containing embedded surround information such as Dolby ...
Results 81 - 85 of 159 << Start < Prev 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next > End >>

 
  home theater news  |  equipment reviews 
  blu-ray reviews  |  dvd  |  theatrical reviews  
  music download reviews  |  music disc reviews
  contact  |  about-us  |  careers   |  brands 
  Subscribe to Us   |   RSS   |  AVRev Forums
  front page  |  virtual tours  |  dealer locator
  how to features  |   lifestyle & design articles
  Want Your Home Theater Featured on MHT?
   CE Partners: HDD  |  HDF  |  VGT  |  SD  |  DVD
   
  Advertise with Us | Specs | Disclaimer
  Sponsors | privacy policy | terms of use
  909 N. Sepulveda Blvd. El Segundo, CA 90245
  Ads: 310.280.4476 | Contact Us
  Content: 310.280.4575 | Mike Flacy