equipment reviews
This Month's Featured Equipment Reviews
Denon AVR-X3100W Home Theater Receiver Review
Tisbury Audio Mini Passive Review
Denon AVR-S700W& Envaya Bluetooth Speaker Reviews
CLONES Audio 25p Power Amplifier Review
Audioengine A2+ Desktop Speakers Review
Latest AV News
AV News Forum Topics:
Classic Feature Articles
 
Audio Related Articles

Ordering   Advanced search

Title:
Thursday, 13 December 2007 ,  Written by Jerry Del Colliano
manufacturer: Mark Levinson model: Sound System for the Lexus SC430 category: Feature Article review date: February 2001 reviewed by: Jerry Del Colliano Mark Levinson Sound System for the Lexus SC430 Let’s face it, we spend far more of our lives in our cars than we do parked in front of our high-end music and theater systems. I commute from West Hollywood Hills to Century City. It’s a mere four miles from my home to my office, but it can take anywhere between 15 and 45 minutes, depending on traffic variables. I do not bitch about the time I spend driving to work, because I crank tunes at deafening volumes and rev my RPMs to the limit whenever logistically possible. The tactile and visual experience of driving a sports car creates an even more heightened emotional experienced when listening to music.
Thursday, 13 December 2007 ,  Written by Jerry Del Colliano
title: Explaining Surround Sound category: Feature Article review date: March 2003 reviewed by: Jerry Del Colliano I don’t blame you if you are confused by all of the audio/video acronyms that go along with surround sound. The moron who thought that real people would intuitively be able to figure out all the surround sound options currently on the market should be working in another field. AudioRevolution.com is going to give you the basics on the most important surround sound features for music, movies and more.
Thursday, 13 December 2007 ,  Written by Abbie Bernstein
title: John Landis On The Sound Of "An American Werewolf In London" category: Feature Article review date: October 2001 reviewed by: Abbie Bernstein John Landis On The Sound Of "An American Werewolf In London" "An American Werewolf in London" broke all kinds of conventions when it was released theatrically in 1981 – it had makeup effects so good that the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences had to instate a new category to honor it and it forever changed the way comedy and horror were allowed to combine onscreen. The collector’s edition DVD issued as "Werewolf" turns 20 continues the movie’s unconventional bent. It’s one of the few films to have its director/writer – John Landis – actively involved in the full sound remix and it’s also one of the few films originally made in mono sound that actually sounds better (not just broader) when adapted for the new 5.1 technology.
Thursday, 13 December 2007 ,  Written by Richard Elen
title: An Instant Introduction to 5.1 Audio category: Feature Article review date: September 2000 reviewed by: Richard Elen An Instant Introduction to 5.1 Audio In the beginning, there was mono, which has but one channel. And mono begat stereo, which hath two channels. And stereo begat a whole set of monsters, of which 5.1 is the result. The term "5.1" refers to the number of channels in the most common of today’s surround-sound configurations. The "5" refers to the five main channels – left front, center front, right front, left surround and right surround – while the ".1" refers to the low frequency effects channel, also known as LFE. Ideally, a 5.1 signal is provided by the source material, such as a DVD-Video disc with a 5.1-channel Dolby AC-3 soundtrack, a DTS-encoded DVD or compact disc, or, increasingly, a satellite TV channel. In many cases, the source is a matrixed surround source, often a two-channel signal containing embedded surround information such as Dolby ...
Thursday, 13 December 2007 ,  Written by Jerry Del Colliano with Bob Hodas
title: The Basics of a Great Sounding Room and System Set-Up category: Feature Article review date: September 2001 reviewed by: Jerry Del Colliano with Bob Hodas forum link: Comment on this review here... The Basics of a Great Sounding Room and System Set-Up When you start out as an audio/video enthusiast, the biggest improvements to your sound come from investments made in new equipment. Upgrading from your $300 bookshelf monitors to a pair of $2,000 floor-standing speakers will rock your world. Adding your first real subwoofer has a similar effect. However, we find that transcending from mid-fi to audio nirvana isn’t always as easy as flipping down the trusty old platinum card on the most swank of electronic components.
Results 31 - 35 of 64 << Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

 
  home theater news  |  equipment reviews 
  blu-ray reviews  |  dvd  |  theatrical reviews  
  music download reviews  |  music disc reviews
  contact  |  about-us  |  careers   |  brands 
  Subscribe to Us   |   RSS   |  AVRev Forums
  front page  |  virtual tours  |  dealer locator
  how to features  |   lifestyle & design articles
  Want Your Home Theater Featured on MHT?
   CE Partners: HDD  |  HDF  |  VGT  |  SD  |  DVD
   
  Advertise with Us | Specs | Disclaimer
  Sponsors | privacy policy | terms of use
  909 N. Sepulveda Blvd. El Segundo, CA 90245
  Ads: 310.280.4476 | Contact Us
  Content: 310.280.4575 | Mike Flacy